Tressie by Blaine Hislop Review – It’s horror, not romance.

Tressie
by Blaine Hislop
Genre: Horror 
Tour Organizer: N K Author Services
 
 

Framed for the horrific murder of her daughter, a mentally disabled Tressie is denied justice in the courtroom, as well.. Sentenced to die, she is brutalized, tormented, and humiliated in prison before she’s put to death.
That should have been the end of it. And for many it is. But for those left with nightmares, the terrifying screams that start echoing across the valley years later are a warning.
When nervous, frightened, townspeople demand the source of the screams be found and stopped, Mayor Trebellhorn calls in a team of Ghost Hunters.
As Travis and his team are sent in to investigate the long abandoned prison, they quickly learn that there’s still one prisoner that’s been waiting a long time to be set free…

Review:
I’m not going to rate this story as it’s not my not my normal genre – DEFINITELY not a romance. Honestly, this book kind of freaked me out a little, but then again, it was a horror novel so that’s not exactly a surprise.

To start, the book was fairly well written, it was also well edited except that I saw others said it had a little continuity issue – I didn’t notice that when reading but who knows, most books have slight issues like this. Unfortunately, I found that the characters could have been developed more and at times I found myself a little short on patience with them. Aside from this, I often found myself with my heart in my throat, a little jumpy and mildly frightened…The sign of a pretty damn good book. When I got to the end of the book, I was a little surprised that it was over, I expected maybe an extra chapter where something big happened.

The only other horror-ish book I’ve read is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn…This book was much better than that, but lets face it, that book sucked so saying this is better isn’t telling you much.

 
 
Blaine Hislop is a researcher and writer from Canada who splits his time between the Frozen North and the Dominican Republic. He is married and loves a good scare. Tressie told him to write this book, so he did
 
 
Leave a Reply

